Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
KCC > Foundation > Foundation Board

Foundation Board

The Kankakee Community College Foundation Board of Directors works to enhance the quality of life through learning. Members honor the college's core values of collaboration, excellence, integrity, learning and respect as they provide council and assistance via strategic planning and fundraising.

Executive Committee Members  
Steve Smith, Chairman John Avendano, Ph.D., KCC President Brad Hove, KCC Board Liaison
Dennis Hess, Vice Chairman Jeff Bennett Peggy Hutnick
Maggie Frogge, Secretary Cathy Boicken David Jaffe
Mark Smith, Treasurer Joda Crabtree Judge Michael Kick
Michael Lynch, Development Chair Barbara Decker Michael Lynch
Tim Gernon Scott Franco Dr. Ivan Meyer
Kelly Myers, Executive Director John Fulton Donald Wagner
Jeff Hammes


Honorary Members Legal Counsel
Glen Barmann Robert LaBeau
Dr. Stephen Burgner
Tom Dunn
Harry Fitzgerald
Merikay Gilmore
Dr. Valerie Goldfain
Jerry Huot
D. Ann Zeglis


Welcome new board members

The KCC Foundation recently welcomed two new board members. They are:

Cathy Boiken

Cathy Boicken, President, Municipal Bank

Cathy Boicken began her employment with Eastern Illinois Bank in Momence in September 1981 as a secretary. Eastern Illinois Bank merged with Municipal Bank in 1990.

Over the years, her strong work ethic and leadership resulted in multiple promotions, and she advanced to become branch manager, assistant vice president, vice president, trust officer, then executive vice president. She was ultimately promoted to the role of president of Municipal Bank in 2011. While there are many successful female executives locally, Boicken is proud to have become the only woman bank president in Kankakee County.

Boicken completed an Associate in Arts degree from KCC in 1993 and was a member of Phi Theta Kappa. She graduated Summa Cum Laude from Olivet Nazarene University in 1996.

Barbara Decker, Chief Nursing Officer, Presence St. Mary's Hospital

Barb Decker began her nursing career at Provena St. Mary’s Hospital in 1977, working her way from staff nurse to division director of perioperative and women and children’s services. In addition, she provided interim leadership as chief nursing Executive.

In 2010, Decker joined the Corporate Supply Chain Division of Provena Health. With the merger of Provena Health and Resurrection Health Care as Presence Health, she became the system director of supply chain information and implementation.

Decker earned an Associate in Applied Science degree in nursing from KCC. She also has a Bachelor of Science in nursing and a Master of Science in business administration, both from Olivet Nazarene University.

She is a member of the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE), the Illinois Organization of Nursing Leaders (IONL), and the Association of Perioperative Nurses (AORN).