Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
KCC > Athletics > Softball > 2015 NJCAA Champions

2015 NJCAA Champions

The KCC women’s softball team won the national title on Saturday, May 16, 2015. Coach Dennis Clark led the Cavaliers to a 5-1 victory over East Central Community College of Decatur, Miss.

The Cavaliers, who play in Division II of the NJCAA, finished the season with a 45-6 record.

It is the first national title for the team, and for Clark, who was inducted in to the NJCAA Softball Hall of Fame in December 2014. The national tournament was held in Clinton, Miss.

“It’s been a good year starting with the Hall of Fame,” said Clark. “It doesn’t get any better than this. It’s a dream come true.”

In the championship game, KCC scored all of its runs in the fifth inning. Brittany Plimmer and Stephanie Sanderson hit home runs, and Andrea Beal brought in the go-ahead run with a single to right field. Brittany Hay, Lindsey Snyder and Kyleigh Payne also had hits. Charlie Nolen pitched the entire game for KCC, and earned the win. She allowed three hits, while walking just one and striking out four, finishing the season with a 23-3 record.

About the team

The team's freshmen: Erin Walker, from Tuscola; Ashley Adermann, from Wilmington; Brittany Hay, from Georgetown; Bailee Porter, from Bourbonnais; Lindsey Snyder, from Brighton; Andrea Beal, from Elgin; and Kyleigh Payne, from Bourbonnais.

The sophomores: Meghan Gill, from Bourbonnais; Kayla Snider, from Silver Lake, Ind.; Mackenzi Spittal, from Bolingbrook; Monet Alexander, from Plainfield; Stephanie Sanderson, from Homer; Courtney Posing, from Manteno; Charlie Nolen, from Lucerne, Ind.; and Brittany Plimmer, from Bloomingdale.

The assistant coaches are Bill Wendling, Jim Grimes and Heather Wilken.

Dennis Clark interview on WKCC

Download the interview with KCC athletics director Ted Petersen and Coach Dennis Clark, recorded on Sept. 1, 2015 for WKCC's Sports Report.