.aspxKCCContinuing EducationTraining OptionsConcealed Carry  

 Illinois Concealed Carry Permit Training

concealed Carry Training includes Firing Range experience
KCC’s Illinois Concealed Carry Permit Training Course satisfies the requirements to apply for an Illinois Concealed Carry Permit, including classroom and fire range work. All instructors are NRA certified and approved to conduct Illinois Concealed Carry Firearms Training.

Upon successful completion of this course, you will receive a course certificate, which is necessary to obtain your Illinois Concealed Carry Permit.

Class information

All students are expected to follow the instructions of the instructors and staff. Firearms safety rules will be reviewed with each student.

Students who arrive after the class has begun will not be admitted and will need to re-schedule for a different date.

Due to the serious nature of this course, any student who fails to follow the instructions of the instructor or staff—or who is otherwise disruptive—will be asked to leave the premises.

Part 1 - Classroom instruction

Location: Kankakee Community College. Bring:

  • Valid state ID or driver's license
  • Valid Firearm Owner Identification Card (FOID card)
  • If applicable, Resident Alien Card
  • Proof of prior training, if applicable

Part 2 - Range instruction

Concealed Carry Training

Location: Illinois State Rifle Association firing range. Begin at KCC, then travel to the firing range. Bring:

  • Transportation to the range
  • Valid state ID or driver's license
  • Valid Firearm Owner Identification Card (FOID card)
  • A hat with a bill (baseball-type hat)
  • Eye and ear protection (optional). If you do not bring your own, they will be provided.

DO NOT bring your firearm or any ammunition to KCC or to the range. You will be provided with a firearm and ammunition at the range. The range is outdoors; please dress appropriately. For safety (semi-automatic pistols throw off hot brass), the following are not allowed at the range:

  • shorts
  • open-toe shoes/sandals
  • low-cut blouses
  • sleeveless shirts

Family and friends will not be allowed to wait inside the shooting range while you take the course.

Course fees and schedules

All courses include ammunition, use of a firearm and range fees. Lunch is not provided.

16-hour concealed carry permit course

Cost: $231. Scheduling options:

  • Monday & Wednesday, 5:30 - 10 p.m. and Saturday, 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tuesday & Wednesday, 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. each day
  • Friday & Saturday, 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. each day.

12-hour concealed carry permit course

Cost: $181.  Bring proof of prior training to the first class. Scheduling options:

  • Tuesday 1-5 p.m. & Wednesday, 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wednesday, 5:30 - 10 p.m. and Saturday, 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Friday 1-5 p.m. & Saturday, 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.

8-hour concealed carry permit course

Cost: $131.  Bring proof of prior training to the first class. Scheduling options:

  • Wednesday, 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Saturday, 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.

A $50 fee for training date changes will be charged.

Registration

Register online, by mail, phone or in person. To take this course you must

  • Be at least 21 years of age.
  • Possess a valid Firearm Owner Identification card. (required 1st day of class
  • Possess a valid state ID or driver's license. (required 1st day of class)
  • Be allowed by both state and federal law to legally possess a firearm.
  • Be able to follow all directions given by the training staff.
  • Be able to read, write and understand English.
  • Be physically capable of safely and effectively operating a firearm. 

Register online

Please review the Concealed Carry Permit Training brochure for additional requirements and more information related to taking this course.  

Credit for prior training

KCC offers 12 and 8 hour courses for those who have completed prior firearm training. Your instructor will verify successful completion of prior training and apply credit based on the current list of accepted training courses at the Illinois State Police website.

KCC reserves the right to deny credit from another institution.

Obtaining your Illinois Concealed Carry Permit

Gun and bullet

After completing the course, you must submit your course completion certificate along with other application materials, including fingerprints, to the Illinois State Police. Prior training certificates (if applicable) must be submitted with the Illinois Concealed Carry Firearms Training Certificate when you apply.

For complete information, visit the Illinois State Police website.