Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
KCC > Current Students > Academics > Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar


SPRING 2016

Jan. 4 Mon. College reopens.
Credit division registration resumes
Jan. 4-7 Mon.-Thurs. New full-time faculty report on Monday.
College is open until 7 p.m.
Jan. 5-8 Tues.-Fri. Full-time faculty return.
Instructional preparation days.
Faculty in-service program
Jan. 8 Fri. College is open until 5 p.m.
Jan. 9 Sat. Saturday registration 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Jan. 11 Mon. Spring semester classes begin in credit division.
Adult Education classes begin.
Jan. 11-12 Mon.-Tues. Late registration period for 16-week spring credit division classes.
Jan. 18 Mon. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - college closed.
Jan. 23 Sat. Saturday courses begin.
See schedule for specific dates for each course
Feb. 5 Fri. Midterm for first eight-week session courses
Feb. 15 Mon. President’s Day - no classes.
College is open until 5 p.m.
Feb. 19 Fri. Last day to withdraw with a grade of W for first eight-week session courses.
March 4 Fri. Midterm for 16-week credit division courses.
March 7-11 Mon.-Fri. Spring break - no classes.
College is open until 5 p.m.
March 12 Sat. College closed.
March 14 Mon. Summer online preregistration begins for qualified returning students.
2016-17 college catalogs available.
Summer and fall schedules available.
Spring second eight-week classes begin.
April 1 Fri. Last day to withdraw with a grade of W for 16-week session courses.
April 4 Mon. Fall online preregistration begins for qualified returning students.
April 8 Fri. Midterm for second eight-week session courses.
April 11 Mon. Fall preregistration begins.
Students are encouraged to meet with their advisors before registering.
New students are required to meet with an advisor.
April 15 Fri. Application deadline for Fall 2016 Study Abroad Program
April 22 Fri. Last day to withdraw with a grade of W for second eight-week session courses.
April 29 Fri. Payment deadline for summer preregistered courses - 5 p.m.
Students will be dropped for failure to meet this deadline.
Registration continues through June 3.
May 4 Wed. Final day to petition for May graduation.
May 6 Fri. Last day of spring semester courses.
May 7 Sat. Final exams for Saturday courses.
May 9-12 Mon.-Thurs. Final exams.
May 12 Thurs. Last day of Adult Education classes.
May 13 Fri. Emergency Alternative Exam Date: If the college closes due to an emergency, this could be announced as the alternate exam date.
May 14 Sat. Commencement.
May 16 Mon. Emergency Alternative Exam Date: If the college closes due to an emergency, this could be announced as the alternate exam date.

SUMMER 2016

May 14 Sat. Commencement.
May 16 Mon. Adult Education classes begin.
May 20-22 Fri.-Sun. College closed.
May 23 Mon. Six-week courses begin.
May 23-24 Mon.-Tues. Late registration for six-week session.
May 27-30 Fri.-Mon. Memorial Day weekend - college closed.
June 4-5 Sat.-Sun. College closed.
June 6 Mon. Eight-week summer session begins.
June 6-7 Mon.-Tues. Late registration for eight-week session.
June 9 Thurs. GED Completion Ceremony.
June 10 Fri. Summer 2016 financial aid eligibility determined.
June 10-12 Fri.-Sun. College closed.
June 11 Sat. ACT testing.
June 17-19 Fri.-Sun. College closed.
Driver Improvement Program will be held.
June 24-26 Fri.-Sun. College closed.
June 27 Mon. Last day to withdraw with a grade of W for six-week courses.
June 30 Thurs. Last day of six-week session.
July 1-4 Fri.-Mon. Independence Day weekend - college closed.
July 9-10 Sat.-Sun. College closed.
July 15-17 Fri.-Sun. College closed.
July 18 Mon. Last day to withdraw with a grade of W for eight-week courses.
Fall class schedules available.
July 22-24 Fri.-Sun. College closed.
July 28 Thurs. Last day of eight-week session.
Final day to petition for July graduation.
Last day of Adult Education classes.
July 29-31 Fri.-Sun. College closed.
​Aug. 5 Fri.​ ​Payment deadline for summer preregistered courses - 5 p.m.
Registration continues through Aug. 20.

FALL 2016

Aug. 15-19 Mon.-Fri. New faculty report on Monday. Full-time faculty return.
Instructional preparation days.
Faculty in-service program.
Aug. 20 Sat. Saturday registration 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Aug. 22 Mon. Credit division fall semester begins.
Adult Education classes begin.
Aug. 22-23 Mon.-Tues. Late registration for 16-week semester classes.
Aug. 27 Sat. Saturday courses begin.
Sept. 3-5 Sat.-Mon. Labor Day weekend - college closed.
Sept. 15 Thurs. Constitution Day.
Sept. 30 Fri. Last day to withdraw with a grade of W for first eight-week courses.
Oct. 15 Thurs. Application deadline for spring 2017 Study Abroad program.
Oct. 17 Mon. Spring online preregistration for qualified students begins.
Fall second eight-week classes begin.
Oct. 24 Mon. Preregistration begins for spring semester.
First day to petition for December, May, July graduation. Spring class schedule available.
Nov. 11 Fri. Veterans Day - no classes.
College is open until 5 p.m.
Last day to withdraw with a grade of W for 16-week courses.
Nov. 23 Wed. Thanksgiving break - college closes at 5 p.m.
Nov. 24-27 Thurs.-Sun. Thanksgiving break - college closed.
Nov. 28 Mon. Last day to withdraw with a grade of W for second eight-week session courses.
Dec. 2 Fri. Payment deadline for spring preregistered courses - 5 p.m.
Registration continues through Jan. 9.
Dec. 8 Thurs. Last day of Adult Education classes.
Registration continues through Jan. 9.
Dec. 9 Fri. Last day of fall semester.
Final day to petition for December graduation.
Dec. 10, 12-15 Sat.-Thurs. Final exams.
Dec. 16, 19 Fri., Mon. Alternate final exam dates for college closure due to emergency during final exam week.
Dec. 20 Tues. College is open until 5 p.m.
Dec. 21 Wed. College offices close at noon.
Dec. 22 - Jan. 2 Winter break – college closed.

SPRING 2017

Jan. 3 Tues. College reopens.
Jan. 3-5 Tues.-Thurs. New full-time faculty report on Tuesday.
College is open until 7 p.m.
Jan. 3-6 Tues.-Fri. Full-time faculty return.
Instructional preparation days.
Faculty in-service program.
Jan. 7 Sat. Saturday registration 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Jan. 9 Mon. Credit division spring semester begins.
Adult Education classes begin.
Jan. 9-10 Mon.-Tues. Late registration for 16-week semester.
Jan. 16 Mon. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - college closed.
Jan. 21 Sat. Saturday courses begin.
Feb. 17 Fri. Last day to withdraw with a grade of W for first eight-week courses.
Feb. 20 Mon. President’s Day – no classes.
College is open until 5 p.m.
March 6-10 Mon.-Fri. Spring break - no classes.
College is open until 5 p.m.
March 11 Sat. College closed.
March 13 Mon. Summer online preregistration for qualified students begins.
Spring second eight-week classes begin.
March 20 Mon.

Summer preregistration begins.
2017-18 College catalogs available online.
Summer and fall schedules available.

March 31 Fri. Last day to withdraw with a grade of W for 16-week courses.
April 3 Mon. Fall online preregistration for qualified students begins.
April 10 Mon. Fall preregistration begins.
April 15 Sat. Application deadline - fall 2017 Study Abroad Program.
April 21 Fri. Last day to withdraw with a grade of W for second eight-week courses.
May 1 Mon. Payment deadline for summer preregistered courses – 7 p.m.
Registration continues through June 2.
May 3 Wed. Final day to petition for May graduation.
May 5 Fri. Last day of Spring semester.
May 6, 8-11 Sat., Mon.-Thurs. Final exams.
May 11 Thurs. Last day of Adult Education classes.
May 12, 15 Fri., Mon. Alternate final exam dates for college closure due to emergency during final exam week.
May 13 Sat. Commencement.

SUMMER 2017
 (Tentative)

May 15 Mon. Adult Education classes begin.
May 19-21 Fri.-Sun. College closed.
May 22 Mon. Six-week session begins.
May 22-23 Mon.-Tues. Late registration for six-week session.
May 26-29 Fri.-Mon. Memorial Day weekend - college closed.
June 3-4 Sat.-Sun. College closed.
June 5 Mon. Eight-week summer session begins.
June 5-6 Mon.-Tues. Late registration for eight-week session.
June 8 Thurs. GED Completion Ceremony.
June 9-11 Fri.-Sun. College closed.
June 16-18 Fri.-Sun. College closed.
ACT testing and Driver Improvement Program will be held.
June 23-25 Fri.-Sun. College closed.
June 26 Mon. Last day to withdraw with a grade of W for six-week courses.
June 29 Thurs. Last day of six-week session.
July 1-4 Sat-Tues Independence Day weekend - college closed.
July 8-9 Sat.-Sun. College closed.
July 14-16 Fri.-Sun. College closed.
July 17 Mon. Last day to withdraw with a grade of W for eight-week courses.
Fall class schedules available.
July 21-23 Fri.-Sun. College closed.
July 27 Thurs. Last day of eight-week courses.
Registration continues through Aug. 19.
Final day to petition for July graduation.
Last day of Adult Education classes.
July 28-30 Fri.-Sun. College closed.
Aug. 4 Fri. Payment deadline for preregistered courses – 5 p.m.
Registration continues through Aug. 21.