Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

2022 Board of Trustees, Top row: Student representative Quante Grant, Dr. Michael Boyd, Dr. PJ Thompson, Jerald Hoekstra, Bill Orr, Claire Chaplinski, Front Row: Cathy Boicken, Todd Widholm, Brad Hove, Patrick Martin

KCC is governed by a seven-member, elected board of trustees which convenes monthly on the Riverfront Campus at 100 College Drive, Kankakee. Most meetings are held on the second Monday of each month at 5 p.m. The board is responsible for establishing institutional policies, approving financial expenditures and the tax levy, and appointing and supervising the college president.

Current board

Bradley W. Hove of Bourbonnais, a trustee since 2006, serves as board chair. Todd A. Widholm of Clifton, a trustee since 2010, is vice-chair. Cathy Boicken of Bourbonnais, a trustee since 2015, is secretary.

Other seated trustees, and the years they joined the board, are: Jerald W. Hoekstra of St. Anne, 1991; Patrick D. Martin of Manteno, 2005; Bill Orr of Reddick, 2014; and Michael Proctor of Bourbonnais, 2021.

Annually, the Student Advisory Council appoints a student representative to the board to represent student interests. The student trustee for June 2022 - May 2023 is Morgan Fischer of Kankakee.

Claire Chaplinski serves as legal counsel, Beth Nunley as treasurer, Karen Slager as recording secretary, and Dr. Michael Boyd is KCC's president.

Emeritus Trustees

Hugh Van Voorst of Union Hill was named Trustee Emeritus in April 2014. He served as trustee from 1980 to 2014, and as chairman from 1995 to 2014. Betty Meents of Watseka was named Trustee Emeritus in April 2015. With 39 years on the board, from 1976 to 2015, she was the longest serving board member in the college's history. Richard J. Frey of Kankakee was named Trustee Emeritus in June 2021. He served as a trustee from 2001 to 2021.

Contact the board

Comments and questions for the board can be sent to

Agendas & Minutes

2020 Agendas & Minutes

2015 Agendas & Minutes